SUPERIORITY. SEEN IN ITS BEST LIGHT.

Born on the racetrack. At home on every road. M Automobiles.

SUPERIORITY. SEEN IN ITS BEST LIGHT.

Born on the racetrack. At home on every road. M Automobiles.

The world’s toughest test track is where M Automobiles learn their moves. The Nordschleife of the Nürburgring is where the soul of every M Automobile is shaped and developed. A soul that is dedicated to motorsport. And that feels at home on every road.

SUPERIORITY. SEEN IN ITS BEST LIGHT.Born on the racetrack. At home on every road. M Automobiles.

The world’s toughest test track is where M Automobiles learn their moves. The Nordschleife of the Nürburgring is where the soul of every M Automobile is shaped and developed. A soul that is dedicated to motorsport. And that feels at home on every road.

M AUTOMOBILE: PURE DRIVING PLEASURE.

You have to give your very best to win. Motorsport accepts nothing short of; and we hold ourselves to the same expectations. A testament to this was one of the sportiest of sports cars, the legendary BMW M1, in which Niki Lauda and Nelson Piquet took to the track during the Procar series. And, when it comes to the development and construction of our unique automobiles this has remained unchanged to the present day. Only perfection down to the last detail makes M Automobiles what they are: full-blooded racing machines. However, M Automobiles also demonstrate their supreme performance in everyday life as well – be it on city streets, or country roads.

FASCINATING DESIGN: UNMISTAKEABLY M.

Perfection and beauty belong together. Aesthetics isn't just a matter of surface, paintwork, or material – it is also expressed through aerodynamic design and other technical qualities. The designers and engineers at BMW M know that form and function go hand in hand, and they work to create solutions that combine these two aspects into a single, spectacular work of art.

 

A sports car has no unnecessary details. This is true above all for aerodynamics: even the wing mirrors of a BMW M have to perform well in the wind tunnel. But air doesn't have to be all about resistance: the wide intakes in the characteristic M front bumper let the engine breathe and cool the large brake discs of the M light-alloy wheels, while the airflow along the rear diffusor lends added downforce. Side gills are immediately visible, as are the obligatory M twin exhaust pipes. Combined, they are the hallmarks of an athlete in peak condition.

M POWER: STIRRING MOMENTUM.

The special thing about all M engines: they're not tooled-up versions of standard production engines, but independent developments of motorsport technology for the road. Their innovations point the way for other BMW engines. The words "M Power" are an exclusive mark of quality – it promises unique technology, breathtaking performance and absolute quality.Top output that leaves the mundane behind. Torque plateaus that leaves other engines in the dust. Instant revs and power at every touch of the accelerator. And behind it all, scores of innovative technological improvements: high-torque concepts, Twin Scroll twin turbochargers with a cross-bank exhaust manifold, single throttle valves, forged crankshaft. However many cylinders, all of our high-performance engines unite maximum power with maximum efficiency.

GROUND-BREAKING INNOVATIONS.

This is why BMW M gives its engineers ample space to come up with new ideas, an approach that has resulted in show-stopping technical highlights to point the way ahead. Not just for high-performance sports cars, but also for so many other BMW models. “BMW M” isn't just about speed, it represents the BMW Group's power to produce innovations.

 

Take every detail and reinterpret it from start to finish – this is how innovations are created. In the BMW M3, the M double-clutch transmission and Drivelogic enable it to exploit the full power of the V8 high-torque engine without gearshift pauses. Or the cross-bank exhaust manifold which makes the M TwinPower turbo engine of the BMW X5 M and X6 M so responsive. Less weight, more strength, greater control: the sources of driving pleasure.

M AGILITY: CHALLENGING LIMITS.

The fluid interplay between braking, lateral acceleration and forward acceleration: the search for the ideal line is the search for perfection even under extreme circumstances. And an M Automobile is the perfect tool for achieving this goal. The core: intelligent lightweight construction with a low centre of gravity and low unsprung masses, a stiff chassis, suspension and dampers which work as well on the high-traction surface of the racetrack as on the twisting turns of an Alpine pass. The realization: For example, a roof made of carbon-fibre reinforced plastic (CFRP), sides and chassis made of aluminum. And in order to further refine the mechanical construction: the Adaptive M suspension.

LA SUPRÉMATIE SOUS SON MEILLEUR JOUR.

Nées sur les circuits de course, à l’aise sur tous les types de routes. Automobiles M.

LA SUPRÉMATIE SOUS SON MEILLEUR JOUR.

Nées sur les circuits de course, à l’aise sur tous les types de routes. Automobiles M.

C’est sur un circuit d’essai sans pitié que les automobiles M apprennent leur métier. Chaque BMW M acquiert un supplément d’âme sur la boucle nord du Nürburgring. Une âme vouée tout entière aux sports mécaniques. Mais qui est tout aussi à l’aise sur tous les types de routes.

LA SUPRÉMATIE SOUS SON MEILLEUR JOUR.Nées sur les circuits de course, à l’aise sur tous les types de routes. Automobiles M.

C’est sur un circuit d’essai sans pitié que les automobiles M apprennent leur métier. Chaque BMW M acquiert un supplément d’âme sur la boucle nord du Nürburgring. Une âme vouée tout entière aux sports mécaniques. Mais qui est tout aussi à l’aise sur tous les types de routes.

AUTOMOBILES M : LE PLAISIR DE CONDUIRE.

Il faut savoir se donner à 100 % pour espérer gagner. Telle est la loi sans pitié du sport motorisé, telles sont nos exigences envers nous-mêmes. Telle était déjà la devise de la BMW M1, cette légendaire supersportive avec laquelle Niki Lauda et Nelson Piquet ont décroché des podiums dans la série Procar. Et il en va de même aujourd’hui lorsque nous concevons et réalisons nos automobiles d’exception. Seule la perfection des moindres détails fait des automobiles M ce qu’elles sont : la forme la plus sportive du plaisir de conduire. Cependant, les voitures M démontrent également leurs performances de pointe au quotidien, aussi bien en milieu urbain que sur les routes secondaires.

FASCINATION DU DESIGN : ABSOLUMENT M.

Perfection et beauté vont de pair. L’esthétique s’exprime à travers la qualité des surfaces, la couleur, la peinture ou les matières, mais aussi à travers les composants aérodynamiques par exemple. Chez BMW M, les concepteurs et les ingénieurs savent que forme et fonction vont de pair et c’est pourquoi ils travaillent en étroite interaction pour créer des solutions combinant ces deux volets, afin d’aboutir à une véritable œuvre d’art unitaire et spectaculaire.


Une voiture sport ne doit comporter aucun élément superflu. C’est particulièrement vrai de l’aérodynamisme : les rétroviseurs extérieurs d’une BMW M, par exemple, sont eux aussi optimisés en soufflerie. Mais la gestion de l’air ne se borne pas à une question de résistance : les prises d’air larges du bouclier avant propre à la gamme M servent à la respiration du moteur et au refroidissement des grands freins à disques logés derrière les roues M en alliage léger, tandis que le diffuseur arrière oriente l’écoulement de l’air de manière à appliquer une poussée aérodynamique vers le sol. Tout cela concourt à donner l’impression d’une sportive bien entraînée, reconnaissable d’emblée à ses ouïes d’aération latérales M et aux deux doubles sorties d’échappement spécifiques M.

PUISSANCE M LAISSEZ-VOUS TRANSPORTER.

Qu’y a-t-il de si spécial à propos des moteurs M ? Il ne s’agit pas de moteurs à puissance augmentée issus de la production de série, mais de moteurs conçus spécialement pour appliquer les technologies du sport motorisé à la conduite sur route. Ce sont les précurseurs de futurs moteurs BMW. Le logo « M Power » est un label de qualité exclusif, une promesse de technologies, de puissance et de qualité hors normes.


Une puissance maximale qui laisse la banalité loin derrière. Des plateaux de couple que d’autres moteurs n’atteignent pas, même temporairement. Une réactivité stupéfiante et un bond de l’aiguille du compte-tours à la moindre pression sur l’accélérateur. Et, en coulisse, toute une batterie d’innovations technologiques : paramètres d’optimisation du couple, deux turbocompresseurs à deux entrées et collecteur d’échappement inter-rangée, papillon des gaz commun, vilebrequin forgé. Quel que soit leur nombre de cylindres, chacun de nos moteurs haute performance allie puissance et efficience au plus haut niveau.

INNOVATIONS PORTEUSES D’AVENIR.

BMW M laisse à ses ingénieurs beaucoup de liberté pour développer de nouvelles idées. Cette approche a donné naissance à de nombreux raffinements technologiques souvent porteurs d’avenir, non seulement pour les sportives hautes performances, mais aussi pour tant d’autres modèles BMW. BMW M n’est pas centré sur la seule recherche de la vitesse, elle représente le pouvoir d’innover du BMW Group.


Une innovation voit le jour si dès le départ, chaque détail est pensé jusqu’au bout. C’est le cas de la boîte de vitesses M DKG à double embrayage Drivelogic qui permet à la BMW M3 de développer sans rupture de couple la puissance de son moteur V8 à hauts régimes. Ou encore du collecteur d’échappement commun aux deux rangées de cylindres, auquel le TwinPower Turbo des BMW X5 M et X6 M doit son extrême réactivité. Légèreté, puissance et maîtrise : la recette du plaisir de conduire.

AGILITÉ M REFUSER LES LIMITATIONS.

Transition fluide entre freinage, accélération transversale et accélération en sortie de virage : rechercher la trajectoire idéale, c’est rechercher la courbe parfaite aux limites d’adhérence, et une automobile M est l’instrument idéal pour cela. Les moyens : une construction allégée intelligente avec un centre de gravité bas et la réduction des masses non suspendues. Des trains roulants rigides. Une suspension et des amortisseurs aussi efficaces sur l’asphalte accrocheur d’un circuit que dans les virages serrés d’une route de montagne. La réalisation : par exemple, un toit en plastique renforcé de fibres de carbone (PRFC), des flancs et un châssis en aluminium. Et pour parfaire la structure mécanique : la suspension M adaptative.